In The Press

Parliament passage for Port City


-Third Reading of Colombo Port City Economic Commission Bill gets passed with 149 for, 58 against
- Govt. moves over 20 amendments in keeping with SC suggestions
-Rejects amendments moved by SJB FM says all countries welcome to invest in CPC By Chandani Kirinde

-The Colombo Port City Economic Commission Bill was passed in Parliament yesterday with 149 MPs voting for and 58 against the Bill.

The Government moved over 20 amendments to the Bill as suggested by the Supreme Court to enable the Bill to be passed with a simple majority.

MPs of the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB), Tamil National Alliance (TNA) and the JVP-led National People’s Power (NPP) voted against the Bill.

SJB MP Harsha de Silva moved several amendments to the Bill but they were rejected by the Government. Three of the amendments were put to the vote but were defeated. The SJB amendments included the appointment of several ex-officio members of the CPC Economic Commission as well as having Police and Naval presence in the CPC area.

Foreign Minister Dinesh Gunawardena, who spoke during the debate yesterday, said any country is free to invest in the Colombo Port City.

“The entire international community, including Sri Lanka’s closest neighbours, are invited to invest in this special economic zone. BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation) members and Indian Ocean Rim Association nations will be invited to invest in Port City,” the Minister said.